Customer reviews for New Balance 928

New Balance 928

Developed for all-day comfort, the New Balance 928 walking shoe offers industry-leading motion control and superior stability thanks to our ROLLBAR® and Walking Strike Path technologies. Add to that ABZORB® midfoot cushioning, a seamless Phantom Liner™ and an odor-resistant treatment and you've got a shoe that can take you from 9 to 5 to whenever.
Overall rating:
3.167 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
6
11 of 1861%of customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for New Balance 928
Review 1 for New Balance 928
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

928 has a nice smooth lining and fits well.

PostedApril 12, 2014
busybusy
from AZ
Used Product For: 2-4 weeks
Primary Activity: Walking
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
6
Would Purchase Again
"After reading some previous reviews, I was apprehensive about purchasing the 928. I can say I have been pleasantly surprised by the nice smooth lining and lack of "feeling the seams" in the 928. The only drawback I can see to the 928 is the top of the shoe rubs my outer ankles. Hopefully, this will eventually stop with more wear. I have worn the 928s approximately 20 times with no other problems. I was ready to swear off the New Balance brand completely after my experience with three pair of "end of the run" 811s (which were probably soon renamed 812s). The inside seams rub on those 811 shoes and both pair I still have are extremely uncomfortable and hard on the inside. This continues to be true even after attempting to wear the 811s for the past two years. Hopefully, the 928s will continue to be comfortable and the ankle rubbing will stop. The ankle rubbing does surprise me as I wear orthotics which raise the height of my foot."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+28points
30of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for New Balance 928
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not pretty, but they do the job!

PostedMarch 8, 2014
WalkinLinz
from Louisville, KY
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Primary Activity: Walking
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Product Experience:
Runs Small
5
Runs Large
Runs Narrow
5
Runs Wide
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
7
Would Purchase Again
Not Very Easy
7
Very Easy
Falls Off Too Easily
7
Stays on Well
"I seriously didn't want to buy these shoes. I fought with that poor sales guy at the NB store the same way I fought with my ophthalmologist when he said I had to get bifocals! These are NOT pretty shoes. They look like orthopedic oxfords, in fact. BUT I was having major problems with walking, and he assured me they were the best option.
I have to say...HE WAS RIGHT! I'd been wearing NB 628's for about 10 years, always satisfied with the fit and support, but these 928's are even better. My gait improved and the lower leg pain I was having as a result of pronation improved, as well.
I was a little upset that the rubber thingies that come up from the sole at the front of the toe box came apart after a while, but I stuck them back down with some Gorilla Glue and had no further problem.
All in all, these have been great shoes, and I'm planning to buy a new pair this week!
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for New Balance 928
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very much like 926

PostedMarch 7, 2014
LakeGirl
from Michigan, USA
Used Product For: 4-6 weeks
Primary Activity: Walking
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
7
Would Purchase Again
Not Very Easy
7
Very Easy
Falls Off Too Easily
7
Stays on Well
"I love the 928! :-)
These shoes are a lot like 926, so if you're like me and you loved the 926 and were (very) disappointed by the 927, you will love the 928.
As for size and width...they are a tiny smidge big, but I like the roomy feel of these lots better than the snug 927. So I marked neutral...they are great for me.
Thank you, New Balance!
One more thought...if they were made in USA they would be absolutely perfect.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for New Balance 928
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

928

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
maureen
from ri
Used Product For: 2-4 weeks
Primary Activity: Walking
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Style 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
1
Would Purchase Again
Falls Off Too Easily
1
Stays on Well
"I had these shows 1 week , used for walking , the lace holes broke several times. 1st on 1 shoe then the other. 1 month worth of wear!"
No, I do not recommend this product.
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for New Balance 928
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I hate this shoe!

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
pamunford
from va
Used Product For: 6-8 weeks
Primary Activity: Walking
Product Experience:
Runs Small
7
Runs Large
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
1
Would Purchase Again
Not Very Easy
1
Very Easy
Falls Off Too Easily
4
Stays on Well
"The 948 is stiff, hard, clunky and uncomfortable. The salesman at NB Richmond said it would stop slipping on my heel when the insole compressed: now, after two months, my entire foot slides around in the shoe."
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
4of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for New Balance 928
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

inside of heel of shoe hurts

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Dayna
from Orlando, FL, USA
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Primary Activity: Walking
Comfort 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Experience:
Runs Small
4
Runs Large
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
1
Would Purchase Again
Not Very Easy
4
Very Easy
Falls Off Too Easily
5
Stays on Well
"the inside of the heel has a ridge that presses all around my heel. It not only is very uncomfortable but also the fabriic and padding wornethru. Now it hurts where that is all ripped because the shoe has worn were it is not made properly. I have had several of the earlier style. However, I will not buy another of this style until it is redesigned. The 928 with the fabric is just fine. It's just impossible to keep clean. It will do untill the other one is fixed"
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for New Balance 928
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gives me alot of stability

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
knitter
from Boston, MA, USA
Used Product For: 6-8 weeks
Primary Activity: Walking
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Runs Narrow
3
Runs Wide
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
7
Would Purchase Again
Not Very Easy
7
Very Easy
Falls Off Too Easily
7
Stays on Well
"I had a problem falling when walking. I also have all the problems associated with flat feet and pronation. This shoe has worked wonders for me. It gives me extra stability and great support for my flat feet. (I wear my orthotic with them.) I have bought 3 pairs (2 with the mesh) in 7 months and about to order another in black leather. For me, they have changed my life, as increased walking has helped my total health."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for New Balance 928
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This shoe fits terrible, much looser than the 811 or 927

PostedNovember 24, 2013
grammy50
from Florida
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Style 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Product Experience:
Runs Small
4
Runs Large
Runs Narrow
7
Runs Wide
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
1
Would Purchase Again
Falls Off Too Easily
1
Stays on Well
"I bought this shoe because 927s and 811s were discontinued. It is very lose in the heel feels like it is falling off and the toe box is rather large also. I don't like the style as well as the 811. I don't understand if a shoe has good reviews why it is necessary to update them and make changes. I've been wearing New Balance a long time for plantar fasciitis and usually find them very comfortable. These were not and I won't buy them again."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for New Balance 928
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Fits OK, but clunky and stiff

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Karen
from Milwaukee, WI, USA
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Primary Activity: Walking
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Style 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
3
Would Purchase Again
"These shoes were a bit disappointing, after the 811. They fit all right, I am wearing my usual size and width, but they are clunky and the soles are rather stiff."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for New Balance 928
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too hard

PostedOctober 26, 2013
joni123
from Long Island, NY
Used Product For: less than 2 weeks
Avg Miles Per Week: 6-10 miles
Primary Activity: Other
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
1
Would Purchase Again
"Have been wearing 92X for 8 years. When I tried on 928s in store there seemed to be less cushioning then past models, but bought two pair anyway. Once I wore one of the pairs for several days, I could not loner wear them because they were so hard and actually were painful to ware. I returned the second pair. I hope next 92X model returns to greater cushioning."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for New Balance 928
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for people w/ foot problems!!

PostedOctober 20, 2013
lucyloo1
from Tecumseh, KS, USA
Used Product For: less than 2 weeks
Primary Activity: Other
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
7
Would Purchase Again
Not Very Easy
7
Very Easy
Falls Off Too Easily
7
Stays on Well
"I have severe problems w' arch and over-pronation problems.The 928 is super comfortable and supportive.When I first put them on I knew these were the shoes for me. I got size 9 w and haven't taken them off sinced they arrived!!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for New Balance 928
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not the same as previous models of this shoe

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Margaret
from Davison, MI 48423, USA
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Avg Miles Per Week: 6-10 miles
Primary Activity: Walking
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Style 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
1
Would Purchase Again
Not Very Easy
3
Very Easy
"I was unable to walk in this newer version of the previous ones. Upon comparison I see that they have changed the 1st shoelace grommet so the shoe cannot bend there and just bulges upward where it should move. The previous models (I have at least 8 pairs of them) had separation there so it moves fluently when you walk. A rep suggested I try model 857 which is more like the older 927. This works, but has mesh inserts, not all leather, and doesn't have the same stability footprint."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for New Balance 928
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love the comfort of the shoe.

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Skajab
from Chanhassen, MN, USA
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Primary Activity: Other
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Runs Narrow
4
Runs Wide
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
7
Would Purchase Again
Not Very Easy
6
Very Easy
Falls Off Too Easily
6
Stays on Well
"Works well with orthotics and a foot brace. My only wish is that they could add some color to the shoes. Solid all white or black remind me of granny shoes. Couldn't walking shoes be as colorful as running shoes. Color enhances and would make this great shoe more attractive. I feel the need to find something to bling them up just a little to relieve the solid colors."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for New Balance 928
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Yipee!!

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
OldKnees
from Syracuse, NY, USA
Used Product For: 4-6 weeks
Primary Activity: Walking
Product Experience:
Runs Small
3
Runs Large
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
7
Would Purchase Again
Not Very Easy
7
Very Easy
Falls Off Too Easily
7
Stays on Well
"I have tough to fit feet with a number of foot problems. I also walk 3 miles a day and my feet were killing me even with my orthotics in my shoes. I came across the New Balance 928, and am so glad I gave them a try. 1st: order a 1/2 size larger
2nd: FANTASTIC arch support - don't need my orthotics; 3rd
good wiggle room in the toe box; 4th; heel fits well- neither too snug nor too loose; 5th- YIPEE NO MORE FOOT PAIN and I wear these shoes ALL day!! I like these shoes so much that I own 2 pairs and am thinking of buying a 3rd in black.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for New Balance 928
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

No more sore feet

PostedAugust 4, 2013
MaggieMaesKid
from Ashville, NY 14710, USA
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Primary Activity: Other
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Product Experience:
Runs Small
5
Runs Large
Runs Narrow
5
Runs Wide
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
6
Would Purchase Again
Not Very Easy
6
Very Easy
Falls Off Too Easily
6
Stays on Well
"Recommended by my podiatrist. Bad case of really sore feet. It was either these or buy new shoes every 2 months. Wear these every day. Now time for a new pair.
really good support, felt a bit heavier than normal but that feeling went away after broke in.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for New Balance 928
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

New Balance 928 Women's walking shoe

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Pookster
from Regina, SK, Canada
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product Experience:
Runs Small
5
Runs Large
Runs Narrow
5
Runs Wide
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
7
Would Purchase Again
Not Very Easy
7
Very Easy
Falls Off Too Easily
7
Stays on Well
"I have been a big fan of this shoe for over 10 years.
The first time that I slipped my foot into the shoe, I told the sales person that my foot felt like it was home. How often does a person put on a new pair of shoes and say that or feel that way?
I always purchased the 2A which was the best for me, even though it was a little wider 2A that what I was use to.
Unfortunately, in the summer of 2013, when I went to purchase a new pair, the stitching on the shoe was changed again, and this time, the first time ever, the shoe caused me pain along my 4th toe and towards the top. I ended up purchasing a B, but they get floppy and sloppy no matter how tight I tie them. I am very disappointed and hope that the next round of re cutting for style will go back to the most perfect shoe ever."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for New Balance 928
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable and supportive all day

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Carole
from Nova Scotia, Canada
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Primary Activity: Walking
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
7
Would Purchase Again
Not Very Easy
7
Very Easy
Falls Off Too Easily
7
Stays on Well
"I spend the entire day on my feet, and after being diagnosed with multiple problems with my feet, I ordered these shoes in black to wear as a dress shoe. They fit my orthotics well and provide the comfort and support that I need. As a result, I have been able to make it through many of my days with little to no foot pain, and have even been able to resume a more regular schedule at the gym (wearing a different pair of New Balance walking shoe)."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for New Balance 928
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not the same shoe with the new design

PostedOctober 1, 2013
RetiredCookies
from Pickering, ON, Canada
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Primary Activity: Walking
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Style 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Product Experience:
Runs Small
5
Runs Large
Runs Narrow
5
Runs Wide
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
2
Would Purchase Again
Not Very Easy
5
Very Easy
Falls Off Too Easily
5
Stays on Well
"I have worn the 92_ series for years. I purchased the 928 and was shocked at how uncomfortable they are. The seam line rubs on the top of my foot at the base of my big toe and causes a blister. I compared them to my old 927's and saw they had changed the design. I need a shoe with good support as I over-pronate and have suffered from plantar fasciitis and now I can't wear these shoes. I hope they change them back to the old design as I see from the reviews that I am not the only one having the same problem with them."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.