Customer reviews for New Balance 812

New Balance 812

For those who require additional stability from a walking shoe, the 812 is equipped with the ROLLBAR® for maximum motion control. This popular fitness walker is a high-level performer, helping keep your feet comfortable and healthy whether you're walking for miles to keep fit or spending hours each day working on your feet.
Overall rating:
2.6 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
5
3 of 933%of customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for New Balance 812
Review 1 for New Balance 812
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Seem very comfortable

PostedNovember 16, 2013
Sylvie
from New York, ny
Used Product For: less than 2 weeks
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Product Experience:
Runs Small
4
Runs Large
Runs Narrow
4
Runs Wide
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
7
Would Purchase Again
Not Very Easy
7
Very Easy
Falls Off Too Easily
7
Stays on Well
"I just got these today and although I am a bit disappointed that they are not real leather, so far i am finding them quite comfortable. I have walked about 12 blocks in them and they feel like they really hug and support my feet. I am hoping that they will be good for work, where I need to stand a lot. The toe box is nice and roomy. A lot of shoes are not good for me, so I hope that I continue to find these good."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for New Balance 812
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Glad I found this shoe

PostedOctober 18, 2013
shirlenejb
from Seattle, WA, USA
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Primary Activity: Walking
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product Experience:
Runs Small
4
Runs Large
Runs Narrow
4
Runs Wide
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
1
Would Purchase Again
Not Very Easy
6
Very Easy
Falls Off Too Easily
7
Stays on Well
"I traditionally did not like New Blanace shoes because I found the too ridgid and slipped at my heel. I was having foot pain with Brooks so decided to give New Balance a try. I bought these shoes because they were not extremely supported but seemed flexible and supportive enough. After about a month my foot pain went away and I want to get a second pair in a different color for work."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for New Balance 812
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not buy the new 812

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Sally1192
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Used Product For: 6-8 weeks
Primary Activity: Do Not Participate in Regular Physical Activity
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Product Experience:
Runs Small
3
Runs Large
Runs Narrow
3
Runs Wide
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
1
Would Purchase Again
"I have been purchasing New Balance for several years, while the number on the shoe changed in the past, the design and comfort had not. These are the WORST! I was told that the number had changed from 811 to 812, but it was the same shoe. It clearly is not the same shoe. I think the change in the design of the sole of the shoe causes it to be very uncomfortable. I did not try to return the shoes to the New Balance Shoe store where I purchased them because I was sure they would not take them back as I did try to wear them, thinking that they just needed to be broken in. I wear orthotics in my shoes, which normally makes all shoes feel fine, but that is not the case for these shoes. Now I feel like I am stuck with a pair of shoes that I can not wear or return. WHY DID YOU CHANGE THE 811?? Very dissatisfied customer. I purchase New Balance for myself as well as my son, but I will have to look elsewhere."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+17points
20of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for New Balance 812
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Improved model has feeling of less support

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Pegeen
from Wilmette, IL, USA
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Primary Activity: Other
"I loved the 811 walking shoe and I know it was popular by the number of people I saw with this particular model. I echo the sentiment that the 812 is not an improvement. It doesn't seem to have the equivalent level of support that the 811 had. The 812 doesn't seem to have the toe width and comfort as the 811 did. I love New Balance shoes and they are a godsend if you have walking problems. I strongly suggest that New Balance bring back the design of the 811 shoe. Sometimes new and different isn't an improvement and companies feel that they are required to "update" a shoe. The 812 also looks like a cheap shoe in its style and quality. If it ain't broke don't fix it!"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+22points
23of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for New Balance 812
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product doesn't compare to the 811

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Mphmph
from Fountain Inn, SC
Used Product For: less than 2 weeks
Runs Narrow
1
Runs Wide
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
1
Would Purchase Again
"The 812 is not comfortable. i have a new pair that i never wear. Hate the feel and fit. Please bring back the 811. The 812 is nothing like the 811. Don't understand how the company can say that the 812 is a replacement and an improvement for the 811. Very few of the reviews are positive so bring back the 811."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for New Balance 812
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too short, Too narrow, Too Cheaply made

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Ray
from Huntington Beach, CA
Used Product For: less than 2 weeks
Primary Activity: Other
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Style 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Product Experience:
Runs Small
1
Runs Large
Runs Narrow
1
Runs Wide
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
1
Would Purchase Again
"I usually like New Balance but this one was not good. The tongue was just fastened in the front only and seemed cheaply done. The shoe was short for the size and the shoe was narrow for the size. The material edges were not smooth and generally looked cheap. Bad fit and I have lots of shoes and several pairs of New Balance to compare with. Made in the USA was a major part of the purchase decision. We have got to do a better job than this if we ever want to regain our manufacturing base in the USA."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for New Balance 812
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

crazylady

PostedMay 23, 2013
crazylady
from California
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Primary Activity: Walking
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Style 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
1
Would Purchase Again
"These shoes hurt my feet!! Please bring back the 811 they were a perfect fit every time I purchased them.
PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE bring them back
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+25points
26of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for New Balance 812
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent fit for people with extremely narrow feet

PostedMay 20, 2013
Elizabeth
from Tampa, FL
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Miles with Product: 20+ miles
Avg Miles Per Week: 16-20 miles
Primary Activity: Other
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
7
Would Purchase Again
Not Very Easy
7
Very Easy
Falls Off Too Easily
7
Stays on Well
"It is not the most stylist shoe, though this is the only shoe New Balance makes in 4A and the only manufacture that make 4A (to my knowledge). In the past purchased shoes wider, I would get continuous and multiple blisters – which we all know blisters are a work-out stopper. For people that have extremely narrow feet, this is the perfect shoe!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for New Balance 812
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

812 no comparison to the 811

PostedMay 4, 2013
Lindsy95
from Virginia
Used Product For: less than 2 weeks
Primary Activity: Walking
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Style 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Runs Narrow
1
Runs Wide
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
1
Would Purchase Again
"I have had the 811 in 6 1/2 wide for work, on my feet all day. Was the only pair of shoes that I could put on and not hurt my feet. Ordered the 812 in 6 1/2 wide. 812 are not as wide as my 811. There is seam that runs down to the widest part of my feet. This seam is excruciating to my feet. Very disappointed."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+22points
23of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for New Balance 812
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

What would I do without them?

PostedApril 22, 2013
delvah
from Santa Barbara California
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Primary Activity: Walking
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
7
Would Purchase Again
"I was surprised to see the low rating on this shoe by those who compared it to the previous 811 style. To me the fit and style are almost identical and I have worn both styles interchangably, never noticing a difference. The great improvement In the 812 is the bottom tread - they don't trap dirt and bring it into the house like the 811's did - less grimy carpet for sure! And what would I do without the hard to find 4A width? Both the 811's and 812's have been a blessing to my narrow feet!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
13of 17voted this as helpful.