Customer reviews for New Balance 990v3

New Balance 990v3

The legendary Made in USA 990 series comes full circle with the newest release from New Balance! The women's 990 features a classic design with a universal appeal, from its premium pigskin upper with mesh inserts for breathability to the stability-enhancing ABZORB® midsole plus ENCAP to promote a healthy gait. Whether you're running five miles a day or rushing from class to class on your feet, the seriously comfortable 990 takes you everywhere in timeless casual style.
Overall rating:
2.385 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
4
1 Star
5
4 of 1331%of customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for New Balance 990v3
Review 1 for New Balance 990v3
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

defect in shoe causes bad small

PostedMay 29, 2014
Gretchen
from Austin TX
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Miles with Product: 0-5 miles
Avg Miles Per Week: 0-5 miles
Primary Activity: Walking
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
2
Would Purchase Again
Not Very Easy
4
Very Easy
"I bought a pair of these in spring 2013 and in about 3 months they started smelling like urine. I figured a dog urinated on them and bought a new, identical pair in August 2013, which lasted for about 8 months before the same horrible smell developed. i went back to the store where the shoe salesman says about 3 in 10 users return with the complaint, and not every pair goes bad. Contact with water is often the cause of the problem, but in my case this was minimal, just walking around in light rain or damp grass. The shoe salesman said he was going to avoid the 990s until he really trusted the problem was gone, and this time I chose a different pair."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+31points
36of 41voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for New Balance 990v3
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

3rd pair falling apart

PostedMay 23, 2014
Elizabeth
from Boston, MA, USA
Used Product For: 4-6 weeks
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
1
Would Purchase Again
"I bought a pair a few months ago and the sole started to peel off, but I assumed I had just worn the shoes too much. When I bought my next pair, I wore the shoes maybe 4 times and the sole started to peel off. Customer Service was really nice and took them back. They explained that if the shoes sit in the box too long, the soles can start to rot. I thought that was strange because I regularly buy multiple pair of Nikes for running and they're always fine after months in a box. But, I went ahead and decided to try buying one last pair. After just over a month of use, the sole in these ones are peeling off again. I'll never buy New Balance shoes again."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for New Balance 990v3
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

everyone has different needs

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
shirk04
from Hobart, IN, USA
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Miles with Product: 20+ miles
Avg Miles Per Week: 20+ miles
Primary Activity: Running
Product Experience:
Runs Small
5
Runs Large
Runs Narrow
5
Runs Wide
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
7
Would Purchase Again
Not Very Easy
7
Very Easy
Falls Off Too Easily
7
Stays on Well
"I have slightly wider feet, medium gate, but I need a good support shoe with decent cushioning. I've been running 20-30 miles a week for a couple years now and have been through several pairs of shoes to know what works for me. I have back arthritis, get shin splints and fasciatis very easily, and this is the first shoe I've used that have been pain free for me for this long ( I've had the shoes several months now). I do put in gel orthotics to add cushioning, which I do with all my running shoes. I have no issues with smell, but then again I use these for running, wear good socks, and I haven't gotten them soaking wet yet. The tongue does slip a little to the side, but all my shoes did that, and it doesn't bother me. Maybe I'm a rare exception to the rule, but then again everyone has different needs and what works for one may be horrible for the other. As for now I'm thrilled to be pain free, my shoes are quite in tact, and I'm adding more miles to my runs. TAKE ALL REVIEWS WITH A GRAIN OF SALT, fyi the most popular shoes mentioned here happened to be the worst for my feet and knees."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for New Balance 990v3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love These Shoes!

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
SexyKugel
from Sayreville, NJ, USA
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Miles with Product: 0-5 miles
Avg Miles Per Week: 0-5 miles
Primary Activity: Other
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
7
Would Purchase Again
Not Very Easy
7
Very Easy
Falls Off Too Easily
7
Stays on Well
"I wear gym shoes to and from work each day, as well as on the weekend. I purchased these after trying them on at my local store and fell in love. 8 months later, I still love them! They are super comfortable, and I can stand in them for hours at a time.
I have not had any of the problems that other reviewers have mentioned: cat urine odor, loose tongue, sole falling off.
My worst problem is the all-weather mats in my car that are black and make the heels of all my shoes black, too! So my next pair will be the black-on-black.
I do plan to purchase another pair when these become a bit more worn."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for New Balance 990v3
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Stinky

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
JCPhoenix
from Raleigh, NC, USA
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Primary Activity: Walking
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
2
Would Purchase Again
Not Very Easy
6
Very Easy
Falls Off Too Easily
6
Stays on Well
"Just like many others, I loved these shoes when i first got them, but then came the cat urine smell. I do not have cats, nor have i been near any cats, so i was pretty concerned. No matter what i did to try to get rid of the smell, i couldn't.
Then i read the reviews on here.
I contacted NB, and they are working with me to get a replacement pair of shoes, so that's good. I just don't think I'll be getting the exact same pair of shoes, as awesome as they were in the beginning.
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for New Balance 990v3
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

They stink - literally!

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
FabMom26
from Concord, OH 44077, USA
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Primary Activity: Walking
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
1
Would Purchase Again
Not Very Easy
4
Very Easy
Falls Off Too Easily
3
Stays on Well
"When I first tried these shoes on in the store, my feet felt like they had died and gone to heaven. They are the most comfortable shoes my feet (inflicted with high arches and metatarsal pad injuries) have ever worn! HOWEVER - after 4 1/2 months of wear, they began to emit a cat urine odor, a VERY strong cat urine odor. When I walked into a room, noses would wrinkle and people would mutter "WHAT is that smell?" After 5 months of wear (yes, I kept wearing them. Remember - they were comfortable!), the heel came off the shoe! I returned them. I was given another pair. The store clerk admitted that both the smell (from the glue used) and the heel are problems known to the company. Maybe they should stop selling them, then? Another small but annoying problem - the tongue keeps slipping down into the shoe as I walk. I could probably put up with that if the shoes smelled better and could stay glued! :)"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for New Balance 990v3
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Pensfan
from Ohio, USA
Used Product For: 4-6 weeks
Primary Activity: Walking
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Style 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Runs Narrow
5
Runs Wide
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
1
Would Purchase Again
Not Very Easy
7
Very Easy
Falls Off Too Easily
2
Stays on Well
"I love New Balance shoes. These shoes felt great, but have no arch support. I feel like I'm walking flat footed and stomping around. Hard to get the tongue to stay in place and get the shoe snug on foot."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for New Balance 990v3
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

sole fell apart quickly

PostedOctober 2, 2013
mcnbmcnb
from USA
Used Product For: 4-6 weeks
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
3
Would Purchase Again
Not Very Easy
7
Very Easy
Falls Off Too Easily
7
Stays on Well
"Parts of the sole, on both shoes, became unglued after less than six weeks of light walking. I see that another reviewer had the same issue. New Balance was good about taking them back but I am reluctant to get the same pair again."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for New Balance 990v3
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Same problems as many other reviewers

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
MBRUNSOH
from Ohio, USA
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Miles with Product: 16-20 miles
Avg Miles Per Week: 6-10 miles
Primary Activity: Walking
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product Experience:
Runs Small
4
Runs Large
Runs Narrow
4
Runs Wide
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
1
Would Purchase Again
Not Very Easy
5
Very Easy
Falls Off Too Easily
2
Stays on Well
"After having several pairs of the 993s, and wearing them exclusively for running without any problems, and then on a casual basis after their running life, I moved to the 990s when the model changed. The 990s have caused several problems for me: 1. just like the other person said, the tongue slips to the side; 2. they lose cushioning/comfort way too quickly; 3. Now, even if I try to wear them for casual use, they start to cause pain in my arches and on the outer side of my heel/ankle. Not rubbing, but actually foot pain. I was fitted at a NB store, and these were comfortable at the very beginning, but that didn't last. Disappointed these did not work for me, but I was so happy when I found I could order a custom pair of 993s on your website. Bring them back! :)"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for New Balance 990v3
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

V3 Not a substitute for 993

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Sheryl A
from Chicago, IL
Used Product For: less than 2 weeks
Primary Activity: Walking
Comfort 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Style 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
1
Would Purchase Again
"Wish I had paid more attention to other reviews saying the new version is not a good substitute for the 993. NB, please bring the 993 back!"
No, I do not recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for New Balance 990v3
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I really like the 990

PostedAugust 14, 2013
PasCalLady2
from Pasadena, CA, USA
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Primary Activity: Walking
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Experience:
Runs Small
4
Runs Large
Runs Narrow
4
Runs Wide
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
7
Would Purchase Again
Not Very Easy
7
Very Easy
Falls Off Too Easily
7
Stays on Well
"Have been wearing 993s for several years. Decided to try 990 and am very pleased. They felt comfortable the minute I put them on. Like the lighter weight and that the tongue does not protrude so far. I walk 3 - 4 miles a day and live in these shoes. Bought a second pair a month after the first pair."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for New Balance 990v3
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great shoe

PostedAugust 3, 2013
Phil
from Waterloo, IL
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
"I have had both 990 and 993. I like the 993 better. I wear orthotics also and if you put baby powder or some kind of talc powder they won't squeak. The orthotics is slipping is why they squeak."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for New Balance 990v3
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not an acceptable substitute for model 993

PostedJune 9, 2014
JerseyGirl1295
from Stillwater Lake, NS B3Z, Canada
Used Product For: 6-8 weeks
Miles with Product: 0-5 miles
Avg Miles Per Week: 16-20 miles
Primary Activity: Walking
Product Experience:
Runs Small
1
Runs Large
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
1
Would Purchase Again
Not Very Easy
1
Very Easy
Falls Off Too Easily
1
Stays on Well
"I have been a loyal wearer of model 993 and was sold this shoe as it's replacement. The tongue of the shoe has been shortened; it doesn't stay in place at all. My run turned into more like "stop and fix the tongue"!
Why fix something that wasn't broken? Model 993 was a great shoe! I just wasted a ton of money on an unwearable shoe. Very dissatisfied with model 990. Sadly, I may no longer be a loyal NB customer :("
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.