Customer reviews for New Balance 1540

New Balance 1540

Need extra stability during your run? The New Balance 1540 premier heritage motion-control running shoe is built with our ROLLBAR® technology that features medial and lateral TPU posts for the ultimate in motion control, the 1540 also offers a super lightweight ACTEVA® midsole and extra-wide widths.
Overall rating:
3.385 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
1
8 of 1362%of customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for New Balance 1540
Review 1 for New Balance 1540
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Comfortable, but sole wears out and liner wears

PostedJune 22, 2014
LTCrunner
from Nashville, TN, USA
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Miles with Product: 20+ miles
Avg Miles Per Week: 20+ miles
Primary Activity: Running
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Runs Narrow
4
Runs Wide
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
5
Would Purchase Again
"I have used these for about 6 months now for running daily. I needed to buy the NB high arch support liner for the perfect fit. Sole has worn out at heel and ball of foot. I only run in dry road conditions. Also noted that the liner on the outside heel area wearing out no matter how tight I lace them. The tongue is slightly too short and slides to the lateral aspect no matter how I lace the tongue. Overall very comfortable and do enjoy running in them. Wish they lasted longer."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+19points
27of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for New Balance 1540
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Here's the problem!

PostedJune 9, 2014
GFW0622
from Collierville, TN, USA
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Primary Activity: Do Not Participate in Regular Physical Activity
Product Experience:
Runs Small
4
Runs Large
Runs Narrow
3
Runs Wide
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
1
Would Purchase Again
"Here is the problem I have found with these shoes that will ultimately cause me to quit purchasing them and I am not the only one having this issue!
I have owned four pair over the past five or six years, I wear a suit to work so the only time I wear these shoes are on the weekends or when mowing the yard during the week.
Once these shoes become damp, lightly wet or soaked there is some type of chemical reaction with the adhesive that attaches the sole of the shoe to the upper that puts off a horrible smell, making it absolutely impossible to wear them in public due to the potential embarrassment. I mean they smell horrible!
The first pair I thought might have been because the shoes were old but the second pair were only three weeks old and now the third pair got wet from the dew on my lawn while mowing and I can no longer wear them out. Tried washing in bleach but it only made the odor worse. There is no odor to these shoes before they become wet and then dry. I do not have an issue with foot odor either, never have.
I too, like the fit of the 1123's better than the 1540's, something has changed and the 1540's run more narrow. I have the same problem with the tongue rolling to outside of the shoe as mentioned above but that is not a problem that would cause me to quit purchasing the shoes, nor is the tongue rolling an issue.
Now for the good, I am flat footed, wear custom foot orthotics and find these shoes very supportive. I love these shoes before they become wet.
Unfortunately, I have come to the conclusion that unless the odor issue is corrected when the shoes get wet and a statement is made by NB to that effect, I won't spend this type of money on them again. Other people have had this issue and you can search Google "New Balance Odor" for the results."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+24points
32of 40voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for New Balance 1540
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too tight across the ball of the foot

PostedMay 30, 2014
Dale
from Des Moines, IA, USA
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Primary Activity: Other
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product Experience:
Runs Small
4
Runs Large
Runs Narrow
2
Runs Wide
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
1
Would Purchase Again
"I have had these shoes for about a year and am finally getting them broken in. Didn't wear them because they hurt my feet so bad. I've worn NB for over 30 years and this is the first pair that has taken me this long to break in. Had to have them stretched several times before I could finally wear them to break them in. I will continue to buy NB Made in the USA, but this pair has been extremely disappointing."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
7of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for New Balance 1540
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good shoe, needs a little help

PostedMay 28, 2014
hamlin6
from Birmingham, AL, USA
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Miles with Product: 20+ miles
Avg Miles Per Week: 20+ miles
Primary Activity: Running
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
6
Would Purchase Again
"I'm a bigger runner so these shoes do well. I'm on my 2nd pair. The only downfall is the tongue. I've tried different lacing ideas with limited success. If I get them tight enough so the tongue doesn't slip, then my foot goes numb during a run. I believe I will try sewing a small cross stich pattern to hold the tongue in place. Other than that, they are a great shoe."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for New Balance 1540
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Tongue problem

PostedMay 9, 2014
Darwin
from El Salvador
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Miles with Product: 20+ miles
Avg Miles Per Week: 0-5 miles
Primary Activity: Other
Comfort 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
2
Would Purchase Again
"The tongue on right shoe always slips below the laces and there is no way to fix it. I tried lacing up less and lacing up more to no resolve.
Also, the factory issue insoles were not comfortable, so I had to buy replacements."
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for New Balance 1540
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not as good as 1123!

PostedApril 14, 2014
Virginiarunningman
from Brandy Station, VA 22714, USA
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Avg Miles Per Week: 6-10 miles
Primary Activity: Running
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product Experience:
Runs Small
1
Runs Large
Runs Narrow
1
Runs Wide
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
7
Would Purchase Again
"I will continue to buy the 1540 because it is the only model with a 6E width, but it is not nearly as good as the old 1123."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
8of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for New Balance 1540
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shoe that wears well

PostedApril 9, 2014
Richard
from New York, NY
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Primary Activity: Walking
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
7
Would Purchase Again
"I purchased a pair of 1540s almost 3 years ago when they were recommended by my podiatrist as the best shoe for my foot problems. I wear them at least 4 days a week, and they are still going strong. They still look almost new, but I just purchased another pair, only because the soles are pretty worn out. But certainly can't complain about 3 years. Just wish it was a little more stylish."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for New Balance 1540
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Shoe

PostedNovember 28, 2013
mparsley
from Bradenton, FL, USA
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Primary Activity: Walking
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
7
Would Purchase Again
"Comfortable and will buy another pair. I have owned 2pairs and getting ready to purchase another"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for New Balance 1540
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

not as good as 1123's

PostedOctober 17, 2013
momcat
from Buffalo, NY, USA
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Primary Activity: Walking
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product Experience:
Runs Small
4
Runs Large
Runs Narrow
4
Runs Wide
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
5
Would Purchase Again
"Why, oh why did you have to discontinue the 1123's??!? They were the BEST shoes ever. I have very wide feet, and they lasted a long time, were comfortable and light. I buy men's shoes for the width.
These are a good shoe, but they're heavier and not as comfortable as the 1123's. They don't flex as well either. I'm on my feet all day on concrete floors, and I have much more fatigue on my legs and knees with this shoe. I'll buy them just because there's nothing else out there for me. BUT...
Bring back the 1123's. PLEASE.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-6points
18of 42voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for New Balance 1540
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

could be worse

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
bubbaj82
from Kansas, USA
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Primary Activity: Walking
Comfort 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
3
Would Purchase Again
"I've had these for about a year feet hurt at the end of a work out cant wait to get something else on they have held up really well wish they had more cushion normally shoes break down in a couple months for me since I over pronate these have just started to give out also the tread is pretty much smooth on the forefront haven't had that problem with my other new balance"
No, I do not recommend this product.
-15points
2of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for New Balance 1540
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great shoe, too little wear

PostedAugust 25, 2013
saslicer
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Miles with Product: 20+ miles
Avg Miles Per Week: 6-10 miles
Primary Activity: Running
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
4
Would Purchase Again
"After having 1123's for 5 years and getting great wear from a great shoe I found them discontinued last year. We have a great New Balance store in San Antonio.
I was switched to the 1540 as a replacement.
I love the shoe but need to get more than 450 miles out of premium shoes. Can you get better heel wear on the 1540's?
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
-11points
5of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for New Balance 1540
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shoe - No Issues

PostedAugust 15, 2013
bone69
from Illinois
Used Product For: 2-4 weeks
Miles with Product: 20+ miles
Avg Miles Per Week: 20+ miles
Primary Activity: Running
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
7
Would Purchase Again
"I use the 1540's in combination with the NB Motion Control Insoles ( IMC 3210) to run several miles daily. Fantastic Motion and Stability Control and a real game changer for me in terms of joint and arch health and my ability to keep an aggressive exercise schedule without being nagged by foot or leg or hip issues. My own personal experience has been excellent, and I have not encountered the tongue slippage issues others have mentioned in their reviews. I run both the 3rd and 4th lace through the tongue loop, and I lace all the way up to the 6th lace before tying off. I use socks designed for runners - and they are almost always made completely of some sort of synthetic materials including polyester - and they do not slip around inside your shoe while running."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
16of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for New Balance 1540
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not as good as the 1123

PostedAugust 4, 2013
sacfan
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Primary Activity: Other
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product Experience:
Runs Small
4
Runs Large
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
5
Would Purchase Again
"I've used the 1122, the 1123 and now the 1540s for years. Like many other users, the 1123 is by far the best of these SL-2 models. I really don't like the 1540s as much but they are the best available. I was continually frustrated by the tongue slipping down and sliding around until I just recently made sure to run the laces through the loop on the tongue. This seems to help a lot. I just found my last 1123 online in my size, so after that I'll be back using the 1540s. I would love to see a resurrection of the 1123s. Otherwise I look forward to the 1540 replacement by a newer model. For some reason I get the sense that the stock of 1540s in online stores is getting low (although NB's website has them), so hopefully this means a replacement is coming soon? I rate the 1123 a 5/5. The 1540s I rate a 3.5/5."
Yes, I recommend this product.
-5points
15of 35voted this as helpful.