Customer reviews for New Balance 1540

New Balance 1540

Need extra stability during your run? The New Balance 1540 premier heritage motion-control running shoe is made just for you, right here in the USA. Built with our ROLLBAR® technology that features medial and lateral TPU posts for the ultimate in motion control, the 1540 also offers a super lightweight ACTEVA® midsole and extra-wide widths.
Overall rating:
3.647 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
13 of 1776%of customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for New Balance 1540
Review 1 for New Balance 1540
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not as good as 1123!

PostedApril 14, 2014
Virginiarunningman
from Brandy Station, VA 22714, USA
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Avg Miles Per Week: 6-10 miles
Primary Activity: Running
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product Experience:
Runs Small
1
Runs Large
Runs Narrow
1
Runs Wide
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
7
Would Purchase Again
"I will continue to buy the 1540 because it is the only model with a 6E width, but it is not nearly as good as the old 1123."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for New Balance 1540
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shoe that wears well

PostedApril 9, 2014
Richard
from New York, NY
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Primary Activity: Walking
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
7
Would Purchase Again
"I purchased a pair of 1540s almost 3 years ago when they were recommended by my podiatrist as the best shoe for my foot problems. I wear them at least 4 days a week, and they are still going strong. They still look almost new, but I just purchased another pair, only because the soles are pretty worn out. But certainly can't complain about 3 years. Just wish it was a little more stylish."
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for New Balance 1540
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Shoe

PostedNovember 28, 2013
mparsley
from Bradenton, FL, USA
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Primary Activity: Walking
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
7
Would Purchase Again
"Comfortable and will buy another pair. I have owned 2pairs and getting ready to purchase another"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for New Balance 1540
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

not as good as 1123's

PostedOctober 17, 2013
momcat
from Buffalo, NY, USA
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Primary Activity: Walking
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product Experience:
Runs Small
4
Runs Large
Runs Narrow
4
Runs Wide
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
5
Would Purchase Again
"Why, oh why did you have to discontinue the 1123's??!? They were the BEST shoes ever. I have very wide feet, and they lasted a long time, were comfortable and light. I buy men's shoes for the width.
These are a good shoe, but they're heavier and not as comfortable as the 1123's. They don't flex as well either. I'm on my feet all day on concrete floors, and I have much more fatigue on my legs and knees with this shoe. I'll buy them just because there's nothing else out there for me. BUT...
Bring back the 1123's. PLEASE.
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
-5points
12of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for New Balance 1540
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

could be worse

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
bubbaj82
from Kansas, USA
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Primary Activity: Walking
Comfort 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
3
Would Purchase Again
"I've had these for about a year feet hurt at the end of a work out cant wait to get something else on they have held up really well wish they had more cushion normally shoes break down in a couple months for me since I over pronate these have just started to give out also the tread is pretty much smooth on the forefront haven't had that problem with my other new balance"
No, I do not recommend this product.
-11points
1of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for New Balance 1540
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great shoe, too little wear

PostedAugust 25, 2013
saslicer
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Miles with Product: 20+ miles
Avg Miles Per Week: 6-10 miles
Primary Activity: Running
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
4
Would Purchase Again
"After having 1123's for 5 years and getting great wear from a great shoe I found them discontinued last year. We have a great New Balance store in San Antonio.
I was switched to the 1540 as a replacement.
I love the shoe but need to get more than 450 miles out of premium shoes. Can you get better heel wear on the 1540's?
"
No, I do not recommend this product.
-9points
5of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for New Balance 1540
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shoe - No Issues

PostedAugust 15, 2013
bone69
from Illinois
Used Product For: 2-4 weeks
Miles with Product: 20+ miles
Avg Miles Per Week: 20+ miles
Primary Activity: Running
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
7
Would Purchase Again
"I use the 1540's in combination with the NB Motion Control Insoles ( IMC 3210) to run several miles daily. Fantastic Motion and Stability Control and a real game changer for me in terms of joint and arch health and my ability to keep an aggressive exercise schedule without being nagged by foot or leg or hip issues. My own personal experience has been excellent, and I have not encountered the tongue slippage issues others have mentioned in their reviews. I run both the 3rd and 4th lace through the tongue loop, and I lace all the way up to the 6th lace before tying off. I use socks designed for runners - and they are almost always made completely of some sort of synthetic materials including polyester - and they do not slip around inside your shoe while running."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for New Balance 1540
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not as good as the 1123

PostedAugust 4, 2013
sacfan
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Primary Activity: Other
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Product Experience:
Runs Small
4
Runs Large
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
5
Would Purchase Again
"I've used the 1122, the 1123 and now the 1540s for years. Like many other users, the 1123 is by far the best of these SL-2 models. I really don't like the 1540s as much but they are the best available. I was continually frustrated by the tongue slipping down and sliding around until I just recently made sure to run the laces through the loop on the tongue. This seems to help a lot. I just found my last 1123 online in my size, so after that I'll be back using the 1540s. I would love to see a resurrection of the 1123s. Otherwise I look forward to the 1540 replacement by a newer model. For some reason I get the sense that the stock of 1540s in online stores is getting low (although NB's website has them), so hopefully this means a replacement is coming soon? I rate the 1123 a 5/5. The 1540s I rate a 3.5/5."
Yes, I recommend this product.
-8points
9of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for New Balance 1540
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

VERY SATISFIED.....

PostedJuly 29, 2013
USArunner
from New York, NY
Used Product For: 2-4 weeks
Miles with Product: 20+ miles
Avg Miles Per Week: 11-15 miles
Primary Activity: Walking
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
7
Would Purchase Again
"I give this shoe an A+. Comfortable, and breathable as well. Good looking shoe also. Thank you New Balance USA!"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for New Balance 1540
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoe - nothing else like it on the market

PostedJuly 20, 2013
UglyAngel
from Northwest Arkansas
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Miles with Product: 20+ miles
Avg Miles Per Week: 6-10 miles
Primary Activity: Other
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
7
Would Purchase Again
"I wore all the previous versions...1121, 1122, 1123. I liked all of them. Not sure why we needed replacements but the 1540 does the trick...about to purchase another pair after 269 running miles on these. These shoes are great if you need both stability and motion control. You don't have to be heavy or a non-runner, these work for anyone who needs extra help with cushion and keeping their feet pointed in the right direction. I've got alignment issues between hips, knees, and feet. The folks at the running store say I don't need them but when I've tried other styles I get terrible knee pain. These shoes keep everything aligned and feeling great, even for half marathon distances."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for New Balance 1540
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sl2 Comfort for the Non-Runner

PostedJuly 15, 2013
kwarthog
from PA
Used Product For: 2-4 weeks
Primary Activity: Walking
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Experience:
Runs Small
2
Runs Large
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
6
Would Purchase Again
"My feet enjoy NB's SL2 fit. I am completely not a runner. I wear these for everyday comfort during the summer and the 1540 does not disappoint. Cushion and motion control in the SL-2 fit.....room for my wide feet up front with a good fit for my narrow heal and high arch. Others say this shoes pales in comparison to a previous model but on its own merit these are excellent. 1540's run a 1/2 size small."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for New Balance 1540
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Severe Tongue Pain

PostedJuly 15, 2013
joypebble
from Beautiful Hudson Valley
Used Product For: less than 2 weeks
Avg Miles Per Week: 0-5 miles
Primary Activity: Walking
Comfort 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
2
Would Purchase Again
"Design flaw in this otherwise excellent shoe makes wearing them (literally) a pain. The tongue is too short and ends before the top lace. This allows the top lace to dig into the instep of both feet when the lace is tightened. Also, this shortness allows the tongue to creep down well be lot the normal position and bunch up under the laces. Very uncomfortable.
The only solution was to *not* use the uppermost holes for lacing, making the laces way too long. New Balance shoes have always been extremely well designed. This one feature on this model is a surprising exception.
---JP"
No, I do not recommend this product.
-8points
10of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for New Balance 1540
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Soles wear out quickly

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Anonymous
from Portland, OR
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Miles with Product: 0-5 miles
Avg Miles Per Week: 16-20 miles
Primary Activity: Walking
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"The soles on these wear out much too quickly. Particularly in the area of the balls of the feet. I suggest you use standard tough material. The style of the soles is not important to your users. Who needs blue material on the soles of their shoes? Geesh. What was wrong with the 1123 anyway?
I'm beginning to consider your competitors' shoes. However, they have one major disadvantage in that you continue to inform your customers which lasts are used (e.g. SL-1, SL-2, etc.). I need the SL-2 and I can't seem to find another shoe manufacturer that uses it."
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
12of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for New Balance 1540
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoe for problem feet!

PostedJune 28, 2013
Mary
from Henderson, NV
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Primary Activity: Walking
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
7
Would Purchase Again
"I am a woman who wears men's size 8 6E because of severe bunions. Fit was always a problem until I bought these shoes over a year ago. These are very comfortable with orthotics. I don't run, but I like running shoes because they seem to bend better when walking, plus they are lighter.
I am now ordering a pair in black. Thank heaven for New Balance! They make the best shoes for problem feet!
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for New Balance 1540
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

ok shoe

PostedMay 4, 2013
jacob
from Maple Grove, MN
Used Product For: 4-6 weeks
Miles with Product: 0-5 miles
Avg Miles Per Week: 0-5 miles
Primary Activity: Walking
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
4
Would Purchase Again
"I had 2 pair of 1012's and loved them. I tried the 1540 and didn't like them as much but is an ok shoe. The toe box wasn't as good of a fit and the heal cushion wasn't as good.
I'm going back to the 1012 for as long as they make them
"
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for New Balance 1540
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The tongue is to short!

PostedMay 3, 2013
WilliamR.
from Milton,Ga.
Used Product For: 4-6 weeks
Miles with Product: 20+ miles
Primary Activity: Walking
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
1
Would Purchase Again
"I like the shoe and the black color,it is hard to believe that New Balance would make an obvious error in design,such as the short tongue."
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
10of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for New Balance 1540
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Stiff - Walking on Planks - Expensive Agony!

PostedMay 1, 2013
Carlwith2SoreFeet
from Rhode Island
Used Product For: 8 or more weeks
Primary Activity: Walking
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Probably Would Not Purchase Again
1
Would Purchase Again
"BRING BACK the 1123 !!! Tried hard by wearing for about two months to break in ... They are unbreakable!! These shoes are uncomfortable - stiff - tight in heel - a waste of good money! Why did you stop making 1123's? However - they look good ;-)"
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
16of 33voted this as helpful.